Makenzie Stone is named 2021 Distinguished Young Women


Photo by Braxton Stone

Makenzie Stone introduces her little, Abbi Upchurch, in the opening number.

Johannah Larson

STARKVILLE, Miss., Sat., February 8 The Distinguished Young Women (DYW) of Starkville scholarship program took place at Lee Hall on the campus of Mississippi State University. DYW is a part of a national scholarship program that promotes and rewards scholarship, leadership and talent in young women.  

Local DYW program participants compete with a chance of being awarded cash scholarships at the local level. These participants are female juniors from Starkville High School, Starkville Academy and Starkville Christian School.  

Makenzie Stone, received the overall fitness award, preliminary self-expression, be your best self essay, and was named the Distinguished Young Woman of Starkville for 2021. She will advance to the state program in Meridian, Mississippi, where the program will award more than $28,900 in cash tuition scholarships. 

I am so honored to be Starkville’s Distinguished Young Woman for 2021. This program means so much to me, and I am so glad that I get to continue being a part of it. The Distinguished Young Women program has brought out a confidence and bravery in me that I didn’t know I had before. This program has pushed me out of my comfort zone, and I am so thankful for that,” Stone said. 

The program allows juniors not only the opportunity to get scholarships, but it also allows them to gain friendships with all their competitors. 

“Seeing my 17 new sisters grow and shine on stage made me so happy because they are so kind, and I know how hard we all had worked for program night. I highly recommend that the upcoming junior class get involved in Distinguished Young Women; it is such a transformative program,” Stone said.  

Additional participants won awards: Evelyn Smith, Spirit of DYW; Sarah Strickland, Overall Scholastics; Amanda Kaplan, Fitness preliminary; Tate Honea, Talent preliminary; Aika Owens, Talent overall; Emily Mago, Selfexpression overall; Evelyn Smith, 3rd alternate; Laura Guyton Martin, 2nd alternate; and Emily Mago, 1st alternate. 

Winners of all local programs will compete in the State DYW Program July 16-18, 2020, in Meridian, Mississippi.